Page content

Jump to footer

News Archive

Queen to release Singles Collection Volume 3: 1984-1989


The third edition in a four box set, Queen: The Singles Collection 3 continues the story of rock legends Queen through the years 1984 – 1989: an EMI/Parlophone release on May 31st.

With the final volume due later this year, the complete set will offer every one of Queen's singles to have made the top 40 anywhere in the world all replicated in faithful detail to their original form, in all, over 100 tracks charting the band's history from their first single Keep Yourself Alive in 1973 and ending in 1999.

A unique series, The Singles Collection has been compiled to provide fans with a means to access a complete and illustrated Queen singles' catalogue by drawing on the band's own archive of rare and much sought after alternative mixes, sleeves, non-album tracks, live tracks and tracks released only in other parts of the world.

Of special interest in this set are likely to be the inclusion of five Queen instrumental B-sides, numerous non-UK sleeves, and the ultra rare sleeve originally designed for the UK and US release of Hammer to Fall but inexplicably withdrawn shortly after the single became available.

The five years of the Queen story this collection bridges are as close to a defining history of the band as we are ever likely to be presented with.

In this remarkable period of the band's career we saw Queen tear up the record books. In their return to Latin America to play at "Rock in Rio" in Brazil on January 19th, 1985, the band played to a crowd of over 300,000, the biggest concert audience of all time. They would later draw the biggest ever crowd for a UK concert.

Recording wise, the band created some of their most popular work to date with the soundtrack for "Highlander", which largely made up the content of their May 1986 album, A Kind of Magic. The release gave the band another UK album chart No 1 and the title track single reached number one in no less than 35 countries. The success of the album would inspire the band to take to the road one more time with "The Magic Tour" and play to massive sell-out stadiums on their biggest tour ever undertaken in Europe. By the end, the band had played to more than a million people.

Queen was by now the biggest live band in the world, a fact further confirmed when Queen ended the tour playing to their biggest UK audience ever. Performing at Knebworth Park, Hertfordshire on August 9th the band drew an audience of more than 200,000, unprecedented in UK concert history.

Unbeknown to us at the time it would also be the last time they ever played live with Freddie. It took Queen three years to release a new album, which they did in spring 1989 with The Miracle. The album showed that despite the lengthy time gap between albums, Queen had not run out of steam, and their efforts were rewarded with another No 1 album and five consecutive Top 40 singles, four of which – I Want It All, Breakthru, The Invisible Man and Scandal are included in this volume.

These watershed years, which saw Queen re-enforce their position as arguably the biggest band in the world, are replayed in Queen Singles Collection Volume 3, a period which reaffirmed the band's extraordinary breadth of talent – diverging in scope from the optimism and assurance of such tracks as A Kind of Magic, One Vision (written after "Live Aid"), and I Want It All to the contrasting poignancy of such deeply personal ballads as Is This the World We Created...? and Who Wants to Live Forever.

If collecting Queen facts is your thing, there should be plenty to be enjoyed from the background to many of the tracks compiled for this collection. To get you started:

  • One Vision is the first single A-side to be written by all four members of the band.
  • One Vision was used in the soundtrack of the film "Iron Eagle".
  • Who Wants To Live Forever was the first and only use of orchestra on a Queen track, namely the National Philharmonic Orchestra, arranged by Brian and the late Michael Kamen.
  • I Want It All was the first single to be credited as written by Queen collectively.
  • Is This The World We Created ...? is a duet by Freddie and Brian only.
  • Keep Passing The Open Windows was inspired by and written for the film "Hotel New Hampshire".
  • Joan Armatrading sings backing vocals on Don't Lose Your Head.
  • Steve Gregory plays saxophone on One Year of Love.
  • 10 out of the 14 A-sides here were top 10 singles worldwide.
  • Thank God It's Christmas was Queen's first and only Christmas song.
  • The Works and A Kind of Magic from which many of the tracks here are taken share the distinction of being albums from which every track was released as singles A or B-sides

The final box set, Queen Single Collection Volume 4, will be released this autumn and follow the band singles through to the period late 1989 - 1999.

Queen Singles Collection Vol 3 Release date: 31st May 2010 CD Box Set ICPN: 5099968483920 Digital Download ICPN: 5099968483951

  1. It's A Hard Life (2010 Digital Remaster)
  2. Is This The World We Created...? (2010 Digital Remaster)
  1. Hammer To Fall (Edit) (2010 Digital Remaster)
  2. Tear It Up (2010 Digital Remaster)
  1. Thank God It's Christmas (2010 Digital Remaster)
  2. Man On The Prowl (2010 Digital Remaster)
  3. Keep Passing The Open Windows (2010 Digital Remaster)
  1. One Vision (2010 Digital Remaster)
  2. Blurred Vision (2010 Digital Remaster)
  1. A Kind Of Magic (2010 Digital Remaster)
  2. A Dozen Red Roses For My Darling (2010 Digital Remaster)
  1. Friends Will Be Friends (2010 Digital Remaster)
  2. Princes Of The Universe (2010 Digital Remaster)
  1. Pain Is So Close To Pleasure (Remix) (2010 Digital Remaster)
  2. Don't Lose Your Head (2010 Digital Remaster)
  1. Who Wants To Live Forever (2010 Digital Remaster)
  2. Forever (Piano Version) (2010 Digital Remaster)
  1. One Year Of Love (2010 Digital Remaster)
  2. Gimme The Prize (Kurgan's Theme) (2010 Digital Remaster)
  1. I Want It All (Single Version) (2010 Digital Remaster)
  2. Hang On In There (2010 Digital Remaster)
  1. Breakthru (2010 Digital Remaster)
  2. Stealin' (2010 Digital Remaster)
  1. The Invisible Man (2010 Digital Remaster)
  2. Hijack My Heart (2010 Digital Remaster)
  1. Scandal (2010 Digital Remaster)
  2. My Life Has Been Saved (2010 Digital Remaster)

Audio supervised by Justin Shirley-Smith, Joshua J Macrae, Kris Fredriksson and Martin Lau. Remastered by Peter Mew at Abbey Road. Compiled with the help of Greg Brooks and Gary Taylor. Design by Richard Gray. All sleeves courtesy of the Brian May archive.


Scaramouche Ensemble

Website Footer

Back to top