Page content

Jump to footer

News Archive

Choice awards



presented by

Queen-Ben Elton's musical We Will Rock You has defied critics by dominating the musical categories in the Theatregoers' Choice Awards announced today by, the only London Theatre awards in which the paying public decides who and what wins in all 20 nomination categories. Over 16,000 theatregoers voted to decide the awards.

We Will Rock You swept the awards winning each of the five categories in which it was nominated: Best New Musical, Best Actor in a Musical (Tony Vincent), Best Actress in a Musical (Hannah Jane Fox), Best Supporting Actress in a Musical (Sharon D Clarke) as well as Best Director for Christopher Renshaw who took the title across all categories voted on.

Commenting on the show's multiple awards Queen's Roger Taylor said: "At last – real awards voted for by real people. This represents an overwhelming vindication of our wonderful cast in a new kind of musical."

Said Queen's Brian May: We have seen our team go from strength to strength, but seldom has due credit been given to our wonderful cast and team. This is a triumph for them."

Says a spokesperson for "These awards see vastly different results from those determined by industry judges. Here the public decides. And the public have spoken loudly."



Scaramouche Ensemble

Website Footer

Back to top